24/7 Live Answering
Free Case Evaluation
Free Case Evaluation
(404) 526-8857

What Are the Insurance Requirements for Rideshare Services?


Both visitors to and residents of Georgia often require transportation on short notice to get them from one location to another. Because many people don’t have time to wait for public transportation, they turn to taxis and rideshare services such as Uber and Lyft. While these services may be valuable, it can be difficult to determine who is responsible if there is an accident that results in injuries. That’s where an Atlanta Uber Accident attorney can help.

Requirements for Rideshare Services and Taxis

The State of Georgia doesn’t have any minimum requirements for automobile insurance when it comes to taxi services. This means that a taxi driver isn’t obligated to have a policy for more than $25,000 per victim or $50,000 for all victims injured in one automobile accident. However, the laws are much different for rideshare services.

By state law, rideshare drivers in Georgia are required to maintain an insurance policy that provides $300,000 in coverage when they are not actively transporting a passenger and between fares. However, when the driver picks up a passenger, they are required to provide a minimum of $1 million in coverage.

In most situations, however, both rideshare companies and taxi services will argue that they are not liable for accidents, claiming that the crash occurred when the driver wasn’t working, or when the driver was working as an independent contractor.

Actions to Take After a Rideshare or Taxi Accident in Georgia

If you’ve been in an accident involving a rideshare service or taxi service, the first thing you need to do is call 911 for emergency treatment if injuries require such care. You also need to notify law enforcement officials of the accident and be certain that an accident report is completed.

After the initial emergency steps, you need to be sure to seek medical attention as quickly as possible. Even if you think that your injuries are not severe or you don’t need medical treatment at all, be sure to speak to your doctor and have them document that you were in an accident. Some injuries don’t appear for days or even weeks after an accident.

You should also try to take as many photographs at the scene of the accident as possible. Take photos of the damage to the vehicles, injuries, and even surrounding scenery. The scenery may include traffic signs, local businesses, and things that might have been blocking an intersection. Taking photos from multiple angles can also be beneficial.

Contact an Atlanta Personal Injury Attorney Today

After an accident, it is likely that you will be quickly contacted by an insurance agent. Although they may seem genuinely concerned about you, they are not your friends. They are looking at the bottom dollar for the insurance company. You are not obligated to speak with them and instead should contact an experienced Uber or Lyft attorney.

The attorneys at Council & Associates, LLC have years of experience handling personal injury cases and can help protect you during your case as well. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and let us protect your rights while you focus on your recovery.